I RESCUED A HUMAN TODAY

His eyes met mine as he walked down the corridor peering apprehensively into the kennels.

I felt his need instantly and knew I had to help him.

I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly,

so he wouldn’t think I was crazy.

As he stopped at my kennel,

I blocked his view from a little accident I had

in the back of my cage.

I didn’t want him to know that I hadn’t been walked today.

Sometimes the shelter keepers get too busy

and I didn’t want him to think poorly of them.

As he read my kennel card,

I hoped that he wouldn’t feel sad about my past.

I only have the future to look forward to

and want to make a difference in someone’s life.

He got down on his knees and made little whistle sounds at me.

I shoved my shoulder and side of my head

up against the bars to comfort him.

Gentle fingertips caressed my neck;..

…and I raised my paw

to assure him that all would be well.

Soon my kennel door opened and his smile was so

bright that I instantly jumped into his arms.

I would promise to keep him safe.

I would promise to always be by his side.

I would promise to do everything I could,

to see that radiant smile and sparkle in his eyes.

I was so fortunate that he came down my corridor.

So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors.

So many more to be saved.

At least I could save one.

I rescued a human today…..

Leave a Reply

