Treatment–3 Down

So after stacking (two infusions only two weeks apart) I start the monthly Infliximab infusions.  After the last infusion (2) the P.A. had me get blood work done, the results were good, well as good as my blood counts can be, so she increased my methotrexate. 

In the last ten days or so the pain has increased and the use of my left leg worsened.  Luckily this is not my first time with these symptoms so I am more patient with all of it.  It is a little unnerving that I have been off the steroids in lieu of this “better” treatment and the symptoms have gotten worse.  I know I have to be patient but I also know how much “practice” and unknown goes with the sarcoidosis diagnosis, not to mention my lack of confidence in their diagnosis.

Of course I am asked if I notice any differences from the first infusion to the most recent, but when I say no, the standard response seems to be “it will take 5 or more”… then why ask? oh well.  Something the P.A. mentioned this time really caught my attention and not sure how I should take it.  I guess she was breaking down how the medication works but her words were “Infliximab does a great job of melting the lesion down”.  While that sounds promising, it was surprising.  From what I read and was told there has been no mention of the medication and it’s effect on the lesion.  Still uncertain what the methotrexate was prescribed for, I am even more uncertain what the treatment plan is now.  I will have to do some more research and then call my doctor again. 

I know from the previous onset, the symptoms will lessen to the point where I can start my own rehab.  That is my mindset and keeps me from getting too worked up one way or the other at this point.  Yes I am aware that it might not go into remission this time, matter of fact odds are strongly against that but to stay positive I am just looking forward to a time when I can get back into daily workouts and getting back to some form of normalcy.

Leave a Reply

